28 August 2018

Salon Privé, firmly established as the UK’s most exclusive automotive garden party, will open its doors from Thursday 30 August to Saturday 1 September and welcome thousands of guests for the three-day event.

Some 53 cars, 17 of them international entries, and 20 motorcycles will be judged during the Chubb Insurance Concours d’Elégance on Thursday 30 August.

The star-studded Concours comprises three motorcycle and ten car classes, including ‘Preservation at its Best’; ‘Pre-war Bugattis’; ‘Pre-war Luxury Tourers’; ‘Grand Tourers of the 1950s & ’60s’; ‘Wind in Your Hair’; ‘Best of British at Blenheim Palace’; ‘Streamlined Closed Sports Cars’; ’50 Years of the Dino’; ‘Supercars of the ’70s’ and ‘Competition Cars’.

An expert team of judges will award the Best of Show, Best of Show runner-up and Class prizes.

Five-time Le Mans winner Derek Bell MBE will chair the judging committee during the Chubb Insurance Concours d’Elégance. The two-time World Sports Car Champion and former works Ferrari and Porsche ace is one of many star names lending their experience and opinions to proceedings. They range from globally-renowned designers and journalists to respected historians and motor industry heavyweights. **
The judging panel comprises:

Derek Bell MBE – Five-times Le Mans Winner
Ben Barkaway – Ferrari Specialist Technician
Matthias Bartz – Ferrari Dino Historian, Book Author and International Judge
Keith Bluemel – Ferrari Historian, Writer and International Judge
Henry Cole – CEO of Gladstone Motorbikes and Television Presenter
Yasmin Le Bon – Classic Car Enthusiast, International Supermodel and Designer
Louis de Fabribeckers – Head of Design at Touring Superleggera
Marco Makaus – Classic and Luxury Car Industry Veteran
John Mayston-Taylor – Former CEO of Lynx Motors International and International Judge
Hugo Modderman – Vintage Car Enthusiast, Collector & International Judge
Cecilia Muldoon – Rally Driver, Collector and Junior Classic Car Judge
Steve Parrish – Former Grand Prix motorcycle rider and double British Champion, current Motorsport Commentator and Author
Jeff Smith MBE – Former World Champion Motocross Racer
Harvey Stanley – Acquisition Consultant for DK Engineering and Historic Racing Driver
Giles Taylor – Former Director of Design for Rolls-Royce Motorcars
Marcus Willis – Co-Founder of Girardo & Co., formerly Research Specialist at RM Sotheby’s
Tony Willis – Owner of the Maranello Concessionaires Archive and Valuations Consultant to Ferrari Financial Services.

Now in its 13th consecutive year, and with a long-term agreement in place, Salon Privé is set for a long and bright future at Blenheim Palace, with the recent announcement that His Grace, The 12th Duke of Marlborough accepted to become the event’s official Patron.

“I was honoured to be asked by Andrew and David Bagley to become the Honourary Patron of Salon Privé and had no hesitation in accepting the position,” His Grace commentated. “I have long been a car enthusiast and through my honorary patronage I hope to support the event through known car collectors and also my relationship with a number of manufacturers. I am delighted that Blenheim is confirmed as the new long-term venue for Salon Privé.

During the last three years the event has been held here, I have seen it grow and expand, and this year it will encompass the whole of the hallowed turf of the South Lawn. While Salon Privé is a private event, the general public will also have the opportunity to see these incredible cars on the Sunday during Blenheim Palace Classic & Supercar, the sister event to Salon Privé. I greatly value the trust that has developed between myself and the Bagley brothers, who do an incredible job in putting together this annual super car show.” **
1910 Pierce Four 700cc
1925 Brough Superior SS100 996cc
1926 Indian Scout 600cc
1938 Moto Guzzi GTC Leggera 500cc
1939 BSA ‘Silver Star’ B21 250cc
1941 Indian 741 500cc
1957 Velocette Le MKII 197cc
1962 BSA Rocket Gold Star 650cc
1962 Triumph TR6R 650cc
1974 MV Agusta 750 Sport 742cc
1979 Ducati Mike Hailwood Replica 968cc
1979 Honda CBX1000 1000cc
1926 Brough Superior SS100 1000cc
1958 Norton Manx 350cc
1958 Triumph T110 650cc
1966 Triumph TT 650cc
1967 Millyard RC374 374cc
1968 BSA ex works Motocross 500cc
1975 Honda Hondastyle Racer 998cc
1978 Honda F2 GP 598cc
1920 Bugatti Type 13 Brescia
1926 Hispano Suiza H6B
1928 Aston Martin T-type Sport Tourer
1928 Bugatti Type 44 Aerodynamique
1933 Bugatti Type 55 Roadster
1933 Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 Tipo Le Mans
1937 Delage D8-120
1938 Lancia Astura Cabriolet Series IV
1939 Steyr 220 Cabriolet
1952 Jaguar XK120
1953 Aston Martin DB2/4
1955 Aston Martin DB2/4 MKI
1955 Porsche 550 RS Spyder
1956 Lotus XI Le Mans
1958 Aston Martin DB MKIII
1959 Lotus Elite S1
1960 MG A
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Zagato
1961 Ferrari 250 GTE
1961 Jaguar E Type
1962 Shelby Cobra 260 MKI
1963 Aston Martin DB4 Series V Convertible
1963 Mercedes-Benz 220 SE Cabriolet (W111)
1963 Ford Galaxie 500 R Lightweight
1964 Ferrari 250 GT Lusso
1964 Ferrari 250 Le Mans
1965 Ferrari 275 GTS
1965 Aston Martin DB5
1965 Ferrari 275 GTB
1966 Shelby Cobra 427 MKIII
1967 Rolls-Royce Phantom V
1967 Bizzarrini 5300 GT America BA4
1968 Ferrari 275 GTB4
1968 Dino 206 GT
1969 Ferrari 365 GTC
1969 Lamborghini Espada
1970 Dino 246 GT Smith
1971 Lamborghini Miura S
1971 Iso Grifo MKII
1972 Ferrari 365 GTS4
1972 Dino 246 GT
1972 Dino 246 GT
1972 Dino 246 GT
1972 Dino 246 GT
1973 Dino 246 GTS
1973 Dino 246 GT
1973 Dino 246 GTS
1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS 2.7 Sport
1976 Lamborghini Urraco P300
1978 Ferrari 512 BB Koenig
1979 Aston Martin V8 Vantage
1989 Ferrari F40 GT/LM
1994 Jaguar XJ220